Governance & Leadership


St. George's is accredited by the BC Inspector of Independent Schools and is a member of the Independent Schools Association of BC, the Canadian Association of Independent Schools, and the National Association of Independent Schools (USA). The School’s management and operations teams are led by Mr. David Young, Head of School, and are overseen by the Board of Directors of the St. George’s School Society under the stewardship of Mr. Michael Skene '85, the current Chair. The School’s endowment funds and assets are held by the St. George’s School Foundation, the current Chair of the Foundation Board is Mr. Prentice Durbin ‘89.  Both entities are incorporated under the Societies Act in British Columbia and are tax-exempt, registered charitable organizations under the Income Tax Act in Canada.

Our charitable registration number is 11917-5511 RR0001.

The Boards are entrusted with the fiduciary responsibility of oversight of the affairs of the School and the stewardship of its assets. Directors and Trustees have a duty to make decisions and implement policies in the best interests of the School and are bound by a Board Code of Ethical Conduct.

2020-21 Foundation Board of Trustees 2020-21 School Board of Directors

Leadership Team

Consisting of the members of Senior Management who report directly to the Head of School and representing all areas within the School, the SGS Leadership Team:
  • shares with the Society Board the responsibility for advancing the School’s Mission, Vision and Values;
  • is responsible for implementing the Strategic Plan through the development, execution and monitoring of the Annual Action Plan;
  • is responsible for monitoring and strengthening School culture;
  • provides individual members with a School-wide perspective through an appreciation of other member’s portfolios, along with the interplay between various aspects of School operations beyond their own areas of responsibility; 
  • functions as a sounding board and support group for its members;
  • helps to inform decisions made by individual members on important matters within their portfolios, particularly when those matters may have School-wide implications;
  • provides advice, counsel and support to the Head of School;
  • helps to inform key decision made by the Head of School.

List of 12 members.

  • Photo of Alan Hesketh

    Dr. Alan Hesketh 

    Director of Residential Life
  • Photo of Karyn Roberts

    Ms. Karyn Roberts 

    Principal, Junior School
  • Photo of Gary Kern

    Mr. Gary Kern 

    Senior School Principal
  • Photo of David Young

    Mr. David Young 

    Head of School
  • Photo of Andrew Shirkoff

    Andrew Shirkoff 

    Director of Risk Management
  • Photo of Karen Potter

    Ms. Karen Potter 

    Director of Human Resources
  • Photo of Sam Johnston

    Mr. Sam Johnston 

    Director of Learning
  • Photo of Neil Piller

    Mr. Neil Piller 85

    Director of Operations
  • Photo of Reto Camenzind

    Mr. Reto Camenzind 05

    Co-Director of Admissions, Senior School
  • Photo of Emily Moir

    Ms. Emily Moir 

    Co-Director of Admissions, Junior School / House Parent
  • Photo of Sanjay Chauhan

    Mr. Sanjay Chauhan 

    Director of Finance
  • Photo of Dave Fitzpatrick

    Mr. Dave Fitzpatrick 

    Director of Advancement
St. George’s School acknowledges that we are situated on the unceded traditional territory of the Musqueam First Nation.
Contributions to St. George's School are tax creditable as prescribed by Canadian law. St. George's School's Charitable Registration Number is: 11917-5511 RR0001.
St. George’s School
Junior Campus: 3851 West 29th Avenue, Vancouver, BC Canada V6S 1T6
Senior Campus: 4175 West 29th Avenue, Vancouver, BC Canada V6S 1V1
604-224-1304  ●